Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Adobe Premier thread
TerriccotaPie Offline
Brony
Fluttershy

Tool: Sony Vegas
Adobe Premier thread
Do we have a thread like this? I couldn't find it anywhere, so i decided to open it here.
Anyway... I want to change my editing program a little. I used Vegas pro, and now it's time to try Adobe Premier CS5.5
What can you tell me about this editing program? I never used it before, and i am a total noob now. Give me some advice and do you even recommend it since i worked with Vegas for about 3 years now

This level of reasoning is possible for TerriccotaPie!
06-20-2014 07:21 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
redTygr Offline
/)
Fluttershy

Tool: After Effects
RE: Adobe Premier thread
I don't know how it compares with SV, but I know a little about it: While AE is a compositing program where scenes are constructed (think heavier effects), SV and Premier are Non-Linear Editing programs, which put the different scenes together. They can do the other's tasks too: AE can be used from start to finish, while premier can be used to apply some effects and can work with shape layers i think. (especially in the newer versions.) For example, Collab parts would be made in AE, then someone would assemble it in premier.

Knowing your style, I'd say that Premier is a viable choice since it can do most of the stuff that SV can do, and I think you rely more on scene selection and careful flow than use of effects.

Also, the workflow from all the Adobe CC/CS programs becomes much easier (Illustrator into Photoshop into AE into premier) so if you already use PS/Illustrator a lot then it would make it easier to work between the programs. I don't have much experience with either SV or Premier, so take what I say with a grain of salt.

EDIT: oops i thought you were asking if you should switch to premier, my bad Tongue
(This post was last modified: 06-21-2014 12:49 AM by redTygr.)
06-21-2014 12:48 AM